Personal Knowledge Management – an accidental reminiscence…

I love Twitter. Over the years, I’ve been fortunate to be able to find a style of following/retweeting/conversing/… that works well for me: lots of lurking, occasional retweets, and some actual conversation now and then. One of those conversations led to this post: David J Bianco commented about the Evernote API, and Kyle Maxwell and I chimed in…

 

As I started to write about my ‘system’ for ‘personal knowledge management’, I recall an old (but still online) attempt of blogging of mine, where I covered this subject.

As I read those posts, it’s uncanny how true to form I stayed over the past 5+ years, and how much of the same problems remain…
 

Stayed the same/minor changes:
  • I still use the same “modified GTD/InboxZero” approach. It has resisted the test of time pretty well.
  • I still keep the same type of inboxes, but with more emphasis on Twitter now. Tweetbot is my primary interface, with the occasional glance into the official Twitter apps on iOS or web interface.
  • My personal knowledge system (lots of mind-maps) keeps growing, though some maps show their age. If anything, they now serve as a jumping off point to newer information. Also, I’ve standardized on keeping those files “on the cloud” (currently Dropbox).
  • I still use “Read it Later” (now renamed Pocket), and still struggle with how to extract information from it in a meaningful way. “reading list” is now several thousand articles long (yeah, good luck clearing that…)
  • I still use Evernote, no longer as bookmark manager, but for writing and note taking. I have 3 notebooks:
    • a local (not synced) work notebook for notes from customer meetings, etc…
    • a shared notebook with my family for local notes. rarely used, though.
    • a personal notebook where everything else goes. This blog post started as a note there.
  • I still use Mind Manager, now on the Mac. Not as powerful as the Windows version, but good enough for me.

 

Changes:
  • MLO is a wonderful tool, but not available on Mac. I switched to Things, which is not perfect, but does a very good job. One thing I really got into is being able to use it on desktop and mobile platform (iOS). This was something I didn’t care much for back then, but have grown fond of.
  • RIP “Google Reader”. Now I use Feedly, and links of interest (that didn’t show up on Twitter first), get sent to Pocket.
  • Not related to the tools directly, but now I chose to support paid version of these tools (Evernote, Pocket, Feedly, …) whenever I can. It’s affordable and I feel good doing a little bit to keep these tools running…
My struggles still remain. I’d love to hear how others handle it…
  • I come across LOTS of interesting content on Twitter – links to articles, specific images, … Lots of this interesting content gets saved into Pocket, but I only go back to them when using Pocket’s own search capability.
  • It is unrealistic to expect I’ll read all on my Pocket list, or that I’ll ONLY save stuff on Pocket that I’ll surely read later.
  • Often times I’ll struggle to find something I just *know* I came across before. This is worse for images (memes et al.)
  • I get the nagging sense I should be able to leverage Evernote better, but not sure how.
Maybe I can pick up on what David Bianco was hinting at with his Evernote API question and find a way to automatically save things in different notebooks, but not sure yet…

 

On a related problem, I also dabble with things like paper.li, scoop.it, … as a way of possibly generating *some* value to others from what I follow, but still haven’t found the right workflow for me. When do I share something? How to optimize that process at the point I collected a link? Still looking for answers…

 

So, any comments/advice/…? Comment on this post or hit me up on Twitter

 

Thanks!
Leave a Reply

